A guide on the library's classification system and various book collections.
The Library’s collections, except for the Reserve and Periodical Collections, are organized according to the Library of Congress classification scheme. All Library holdings are accessible via the search bar below:
Search EverythingSearch Books and eBooksSearch ArticlesSearch Journals
The Reference Collection is located in the Information Commons. Although the latest editions of print reference works do not circulate, older editions of some works can be found in the circulating collection and can be checked out. The Reference Collection contains basic print tools for research: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized subject materials.
The Circulating Collection contains over 45,000 titles selected to meet the curricular and recreational needs of the Tusculum community (students, faculty, and staff). Over 500,000 electronic books are also available, accessible through WorldCat Discovery. The circulating collection also maintains over 2,000 juvenile titles, and over 40 graphic novel titles.
The DVD Collection contains over 600 titles. Any member of the Tusculum University community (students, faculty & staff) may circulate these discs overnight; please apply at the Circulation Desk. Additional video resources can be viewed through Kanopy, a video streaming database.
The Reserve Collection is located at the Circulation Desk in the lobby. Books, readings, and other materials are placed on reserve by faculty for class reading assignments. This collection also houses the Tutoring Reserve, a collection of general education textbooks. Held within the collection are a number of test preparation books and citation manuals available for in-house borrowing only.
The Periodical & Serials Collection currently includes over 50 print magazines, journals, and newspapers. In addition, approximately 50,000 more full-text journals are available for use via Gale, EBSCOhost, ProQuest, and JSTOR. eJournals can be searched with WorldCat Discovery and limiting the results my Material Format.