Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Gale is our gateway to the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL), a collection of full-text databases from the GaleGroup. Here you will find not only the Academic Onefile and Expanded Academic Index ASAP, but several other useful collections as well: Gale (Infotrac) Onefile, Business, the National Newspaper Index, Health Reference Center-Academic, General Reference Center Gold, Informe (Revistas en Espanol), and the Kid’s, Junior, and Student versions of Gale. Also, several subject collections are listed including: Professional Collection, Business, Health and Wellness Resource Center, and the National Newspaper Index.
“Journal Storage,” comes to TU as the result of a grant from the Appalachian College Association. This database allows users to examine full-text scholarly journal titles in the areas of Economics, Mathematics, Demography, Philosophy, Finance, Political Science, History, Sociology, Ecology, Higher Education, and Asian Studies. Please note that each journal has a “rolling-wall” of currency, so be sure to check the journals list to see dates covered.
With 10,000 titles, Kanopy offers streaming video on a broad range of topics, from psychology and education to business, history, health, the arts and sciences, and career development. Take a look at the subject breakdown below.
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
