Library Databases
Comprehensive Databases
ProQuest Central
Provides full-text databases for those engaged in the study of Business, Education, Management, Economics, Banking, Accounting, Finance, Criminal Justice, Health & Medicine, Science, Technology and related topics. For guides and tutorials on accessing and searching ProQuest, you can view their guide here: https://proquest.libguides.com/proquestplatform
EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Gale
Gale is our gateway to the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL), a collection of full-text databases from the GaleGroup. Here you will find not only the Academic Onefile and Expanded Academic Index ASAP, but several other useful collections as well: Gale (Infotrac) Onefile, Business, the National Newspaper Index, Health Reference Center-Academic, General Reference Center Gold, Informe (Revistas en Espanol), and the Kid’s, Junior, and Student versions of Gale. Also, several subject collections are listed including: Professional Collection, Business, Health and Wellness Resource Center, and the National Newspaper Index.
About Comprehensive Databases
Our comprehensive databases, ProQuest Central, EBSCOhost, and Gale, are great places to begin any research project. If you are not sure where to start, try searching in one of these three databases. Each covers a variety of subjects and topics, and you will be able to locate credible sources within them. Later on, you can refine your searches once you strengthen your research skills.
For beginning researchers, it is best to use comprehensive databases. Once you begin conducting more specific research within your major, you can expand into more specialized databases.