Skip to Main Content
library homepage and building

About the Library

An overview of library policies, codes of conduct, collections, classifications, and procedures.

Classification

Classification

The Library’s collections, except for the Reserve and Periodical Collections, are organized according to the Library of Congress classification scheme. 

Collections

The Reference Collection is located in the Information Commons. Although the latest editions of print reference works do not circulate, older editions of some works can be found in the circulating collection and can be checked out. The Reference Collection contains basic print tools for research: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized subject materials.

The Circulating Collection contains over 45,000 titles selected to meet the curricular and recreational needs of the Tusculum community (students, faculty, and staff). Over 500,000 electronic books are also available, accessible through WorldCat Discovery. The circulating collection also maintains over 2,000 juvenile titles, and over 40 graphic novel titles.

The Special Collections contains over 1,000 titles in historical titles housed within the Special Collections Room on the Upper Floor of the Library. Anyone wishing to browse the collection musk request access from a library staff member. Special Collection items must remain in the library and cannot be borrowed.

The Warren W. Hobbie Civic Arts Collection contains classic and recent works in a variety of disciplines, chosen to support and enhance Tusculum University’s Civic Arts curriculum. Many items within this collection can also be found within the Circulating Collection.

The DVD Collection contains over 600 titles. Any member of the Tusculum University community (students, faculty & staff) may borrow these discs overnight; please ask at the Circulation Desk. Additional video resources can be viewed through Kanopy, a video streaming database.

The Reserve Collection is located at the Circulation Desk in the lobby. Books, readings, and other materials placed on reserve by faculty for class reading assignments can be found within this collection. This collection also houses the Tutoring Reserve, a collection of general education textbooks. Also held within the collection are a number of test preparation books and citation manuals available for in-house borrowing only.

The Periodical & Serials Collection currently includes over 50 print magazines, journals, and newspapers. In addition, approximately 50,000 more full-text journals are available for use via Gale, EBSCOhost, ProQuest, and JSTOR. eJournals can be searched with WorldCat Discovery and limiting the results my Material Format.

The library has a small board game collection available to the Tusculum University community. Patrons may borrow a game from the collection, however it must stay within the library building. Please ensure that all pieces are returned with the game. To browse our current collection of games, you may visit our Board Game Collection page.

The grpahic novel collection is located on the upper floor near the overlooking balcony. This small collection contains a number of popular and award winning graphic novels. (Suggestions for other novels to be added to this collection are welcome.)